Nonprofit Diversifies with Two Key Board Members

December 8, 2021 | Posted in: PGSF News

PGSF Announces Board of Directors for 2022–2025 Term;
Chair Jules Van Sant Welcomes Second Term

Nonprofit Diversifies with Two Key Board Members

Pittsburgh, PA — December 8, 2021 — The Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF) announces its board of directors for the 2022–2025 term. The PGSF board consists of 25 members representing the broad scope of the graphic communications industry, including IT, communications, equipment manufacturing, publishing, education, and finance, as well as trade associations and commercial printers. 

Jules Van Sant welcomes her second term as Chair for PGSF.  At the helm, Van Sant is helping to shape the future of the graphics communications industry one student at a time as they embark on a journey in the print and graphics field. 

Joining the PGSF board of directors are Jessica Curran of Salt Lake Community College and Heidi Thompson of ACE Public Relations. Curran is an Associate Professor at Salt Lake Community College and has been teaching graphic communications for more than 14 years. She holds a BS in Graphic Design from California University of Pennsylvania and an MS in Graphic Communications Technology Management from Kean University in New Jersey.

Heidi Thompson holds a BS from Ramapo College in New Jersey and brings to PGSF nearly 30 years of experience in the graphic communications industry. Thompson launched ACE Public Relations in 1999, and since 2020 her team provides strategic counsel and communications support to promote PGSF. 

“Adding additional educators and PR professionals to our board will bring fresh perspectives to complement the existing institutional knowledge. It will also give us greater reach as we work on our goal of increasing diversity in schools, students, and the graphics industry,” says Van Sant.

Van Sant adds, “We are thankful for the service of those completing their tenure on the board, who have ushered us to this place of opportunity to broaden our impact through expanded grant offerings to schools and programs, continued our reach into continuing education for those in the industry, and increased total awards to students as we raise funds.”

The 2022–2025 PGSF Board of Directors include the following members:

Doug Yeager, Alcom Printing Group, Inc.

Bill Michael, Cisco

Joseph Schember, Ricoh

Rod Sosa, Fres-co System USA, Inc.

Ray Hartman, Consultant

Jules Van Sant, Bubble & Hatch

Jules Van Sant

Niels Winther, Think Patented

Matt Vertrees, Olympus Press

Peter Schaefer, New Directions

Amela O’Gorman, Quad Graphics

Frank Kanonik, Intellective Solutions

Todd Luman, Interprint

Walter Vail, Yakich Group

Judy Durham, Industry

Judy Durham

Ken Macro, Cal Poly

Brian Regan, Semper

Stephen Richards, RNSI

Ed Young, Heidelberg

Chris Curran, Napco Media

Nick Gawreluk, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG

Stephanie Hill, HP

Theresa Campbell, PIA MidAmerica

Heidi Thompson, ACE Public Relations

Heidi Thompson

Jessica Curran, SLCC

Jessica Curran

About PGSF

The Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation is a not-for-profit, private, industry-directed organization that dispenses technical and college scholarships and assistance to talented youth interested in graphic communication careers. The mission of PGSF is to promote the graphics industry as a career choice for young people and then to support them through their education process.